SKY HIGH!

“I’ll never do that again!” I informed. In my family’s van, I closed my eyes as I recalled this afternoon’s events.

This ride is extremely popular! You sit in the yellow ball as it shoots up and brings you back down!
This ride is extremely popular! You sit in the yellow ball as it shoots up and brings you back down!

“Are you sure you want to do this?” My aunt asked the fiftieth time. I confidently nodded. My family was in Atlantic City. We were in line for “Sky Ball”. With bungee cords around a spherical chair of two, it was the perfect mixture of awesome! “Just one more person!” I exclaimed. I saw as a teenage boy walked confidently and got buckled in quickly. The ride attendant came by us and informed, “Since that boy is alone, we can have one person that can come with him.” A mischievous grin slowly crept up my face as I nodded. The excitement grew inside me while I walked to the seat.

A gigantic suction machine pulled the ball and bungee cords. “3…2…1!” An automated voice buzzed. The suction machine stopped holding us to the ground. The ball shot up into the sky at lightning speed. It all happened at once: the loud buzz, the echo of my scream, and the feeling of my face getting separated from my body. The ball was turning and turning and turning, making my stomach flip. I could feel my heartbeat in my throat. As I reached the peak, I saw an array of colors and large neon signs. On one side, the gleaming blue sea waved at me. On the other, I saw flashes from the booths, long slithering lines, and a rollercoaster with terrified people. Somehow, my brain registered all of this in a second. The next thing I knew was that I was hurtling toward the hot gravel at an innumerable speed. I could feel my heartbeat skip as the distance between the ground and I lessened. My free fall was topped short with the strength of the bungee cords. “Ahh!” Once again, the Atlantic Ocean came into view. “Oh my god. Oh my GOD!” The people on the ground looked like colonizing ants. The grip on my seat tightened, and my breath quickened as I free-fell to the ground once more.

After a couple more minutes of agonizing ups-and-downs and exaggerated hyperventilation, I was back on my feet. Automatically, I grabbed the bottle of Coke out of my mom’s hands and chugged half of it down. “Whoa! Calm down!” My dad exclaimed as he grabbed the bottle of Coke out of my hands. My family then bombarded me with questions about the experience. To all of them, I had only one answer: I was never going to do that again. NEVER!

Leave a Reply

